TOWN AT WEMBLEY: Thompson still harbours hope of Wembley after resuming running

IMG_9117
Nathan Thompson is well on the road to recovery ahead of the League One Play-Off Final this weekend (PIC: Naomi Youd)

Swindon Town Captain Nathan Thompson still harbours hope of leading his boyhood club out at Wembley on Sunday after responding well to extensive treatment. 

Thompson – who has made 42 appearances for the Robins this term – was forced off in the second-half of Town’s 5-5 draw with Sheffield United in the play-off semi-final second-leg last Monday.

Having sustained a Grade Two hamstring tear – which normally takes around four-six weeks to fully recover from – there were fears that the influential defender would be ruled out for the League One Play-Off Final against Preston North End.

However, having undergone an ultrasound along with injections on his hamstring, Thompson is more hopeful than ever that he will be able to lead his beloved side out at Wembley after resuming running earlier on today.

“It’s getting there. The initial prognosis we weren’t massively happy with in terms of it being an 8cm tear in the hamstring,” Thompson told FLIC SPORT at Swindon Town’s pre-Wembley Media Day this afternoon.

“It was disappointing but we then followed it up with a ultrasound up in London with injections as well, the radiologist seemed a lot more confident and he said that maybe the MRI was a little bit out and we had every chance.

“I’m keeping mine and my family’s fingers crossed.

“I’ve been able to start running today and with the game still six days away, it definitely gives me a chance.

“As soon as I did the injury it was my first thought that, as soon as we went through to the final, I need to lead these boys out.

“It’s an extremely proud moment for me and my family and these opportunities don’t come around every day.

“I’m working hard to make sure that come Sunday I give it every chance.”

Having been on the fringes the last two times Town have made it to Wembley – in 2010 and 2012 respectively – Thompson has admitted that being able to captain Town on Sunday would be a proud moment.

“It’s a completely different experience – all the build-up and everything – last time I was on the fringes and it didn’t feel right,” added the 24-year-old.

“This time it just feels different and it’s something that I’m so looking forward to.

“I’ve said in previous interviews that throughout the year I’ve been thinking for Lou (his brother Louis Thompson) to leave, I would just love for him to be able to leave with a lasting victory of massive importance.

“You don’t get much bigger than a game that takes us to the Championship.

“I’m certainly hoping that both of us will be fit for Sunday – I can lead the lads out and Lou will be in tow.”

 

 

Leave a Reply

