TOWN AT WEMBLEY: Smith admits he’s not completely satisfied with his season

BO5I7231
Michael Smith celebrates his first goal against Sheffield United in the Play-Off Semi-Final Second-Leg (PIC: Naomi Youd)

Despite notching eighteen goals and having racked up over six assists this season, Michael Smith is still not completely satisfied with his 2014/15 campaign.

Smith – who first arrived at The County Ground from Charlton Athletic in January 2014 – has already matched his goalscoring tally from last season with Sunday’s League One Play-Off Final still to come.

That means the former AFC Wimbledon loanee has notched 26 goals in 66 appearances for the Robins, but the forward is still not overly happy with how things have panned out this season.

Sitting down with FLIC SPORT earlier this week at The County Ground, Smith was both candid and brutally honest when discussing and assessing his first full campaign at SN1.

“I would say it’s been alright. I like looking back – I think it’s my downfall – but I look back at all the chances I’ve missed and there were two penalties, so I could have taken my tally to twenty plus.

“That was my aim at the start of the season.

“I’ve always wanted to hit that twenty goal mark and to fall short of that and looking back at the chances I did miss, it’s a bit disappointing but I’ve always been the same.

“I want to keep getting better and better – hopefully next season will be the season.

“I’m only 23 so I’ve still got, hopefully, a lot of seasons left in the game to keep getting better every season.

“I’ve got the same goals I got last season and last season was my first full season in football, so to equal that this season I am pleased with it, but I want to keep getting better and better and reach that twenty goal mark.”

Meanwhile, Smith has admitted that the thought of playing in the Championship next season and a potential meeting with boyhood club Newcastle United has been playing on his mind in recent weeks.

“I’m a massive Newcastle United fan so I’ve already looked at the possibility of playing at St James’ Park next season, which would be massive,” added the 23-year-old.

“There is not a small club in the Championship and, bar one or two, every club has been in the Premier League, so it’s a massive step-up but we’re more than ready.

“It’s been a long season, 40 plus games and you’ve seen the style of football that we play – it would suit the Championship down to the ground.”

Finally, Smith has been to Wembley once before after heading to the national stadium with Darlington for the 2011 FA Trophy Final, but the striker didn’t play after being cup-tied, so the prospect of starting for Town there this weekend would be a dream come true.

“It would mean everything to me – it’s every boys’ dream to play in cup finals at Wembley.

“It’s what I used to do when we ran about in the streets as a kid, we used to pretend to be our heroes at Wembley and scoring goals, so to get a chance to do that with Swindon and with these bunch of lads would mean everything.

“It’s the icing on the cake and the cherry on top if we win.”

 

 

Leave a Reply

