EXCLUSIVE: El-Abd states there is “no possibility” he’ll be returning to Town

el-abd
Adam El-Abd puts in a tackle against Rochdale (PIC: Richard Wintle)

Bristol City defender Adam El-Abd has revealed that there is no chance of a potential return to Swindon Town this season. 

The 31-year-old arrived at The County Ground on an emergency loan in October, going on to make fourteen appearances for the Robins.

El-Abd was a resounding success during his time in Wiltshire and played a key role in Town’s revival under former boss Martin Ling.

Both Ling and Chairman Lee Power consistently expressed their desire to prolong the centre-back’s stay at SN1 until the end of the season, with the latter claiming on Boxing Day that a verbal agreement was in place with City.

However, El-Abd took to social media site Twitter on Sunday to wish Swindon the best of luck for the rest of the season following the expiration of his loan deal.

Those Tweets suggested that a return to Town was firmly off the cards, and El-Abd has today confirmed that he won’t be pulling on a Swindon shirt again.

“There is no possibility, absolutely no possibility, unfortunately,” he told FLIC SPORT exclusively.

“It is a real shame.

“It is a real shame because I enjoyed it, I met some really good people, I got on with everybody and I really, really wished it would have worked out differently.

“For one reason or another it hasn’t.

“Right from the top the club has been brilliant to me, the fans have been brilliant to me and they received me very, very well from the first game I was there.

“It was nice to be received in that way and right from the top of the club, from the Chairman down, I would like to wish everybody well.

“I was well received by all quarters of the club and I haven’t got a bad word to say about the club.

“But, unfortunately, I won’t be returning.”

 

Leave a Reply

